Coastal oyster harvesting closed by state



The Alabama Department of Public Health has closed all shellfish growing waters in Mobile and Baldwin counties. Areas I, II, III, IV, V and VI are closed. This includes Cedar Point, Portersville Bay, Grand Bay, Heron Bay, Dauphin Island Bay and Bon Secour Bay.

The order by State Health Officer Dr. Thomas Miller closed harvesting as of 6 p.m. on April 17, 2016. The order was issued as a result of possible bacteriological contamination of the oyster beds due to recent rainfall.

The Alabama Department of Public Health will continue to monitor bay waters and the shellfish. Harvesting can be resumed as soon as areas meet acceptable bacteriological criteria.

Comments are closed.